Yule/Winter Solstice

The Pagan or Wiccan new year. Symbolizes the return of the light, the re-birth of the God.

Imbolc (February 1st or 2nd)

The beginning of the growing season, or spring. The Goddess nurtures the God.

Ostara/Spring Equinox (on or about March 21st)

The first true day of spring. Celebration of life’s strength.

Beltaine (May 1st)

Beginning of Summer. The God is strong and the Goddess fertile

Midsummer/Summer Solstice (on or about June 21st)

The height of summer, the fire festival. The Goddess prepares to share her bounty.

Lughnasadh (or Lammas; August 1st)

First harvest. Life at its peak, preparatory to its decline into cold darkness.

Mabon (on or about September 21st)

The continuing harvest. The days and nights are equal. The God prepares to die.

Samhain (October 31st or November 1st)

Last Harvest. The God goes into the darkness, to return after Yule. The thin time, when the veil between the worlds of the living and dead are most thin.

Further info can be found at Mike Nichols’ The Witches Sabbats